An Evening to Honor the Legacy of Lucille Clifton

Mon, Mar 1 2021, 7 - 8pm
+ Google Calendar
Intended Audience
General public

Register in advance for this webinar:

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.


Lucille Clifton Award: Li-Young Lee and Leah Naomi Green

Li Young Lee is the author of "The Undressing" (W. W. Norton, 2018); "Behind My Eyes" (W. W. Norton, 2008); "Book of My Nights" (BOA Editions, 2001), which won the 2002 William Carlos Williams Award; "The City in Which I Love You" (BOA Editions, 1990), which was the 1990 Lamont Poetry Selection; and "Rose" (BOA Editions, 1986), which won the Delmore Schwartz Memorial Poetry Award.

He has been the recipient of a Fellowship from the Academy of American Poets, a Lannan Literary Award, a Whiting Writer's Award, the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Award, the I. B. Lavan Award, three Pushcart Prizes, and grants from the Illinois Arts Council, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as a Guggenheim Foundation fellowship.

Leah Naomi Green is the author of “The More Extravagant Feast (Graywolf Press, 2020), which was selected by Li-Young Lee for the Walt Whitman Award of the Academy of American Poets. She teaches English and Environmental Studies at Washington and Lee University and lives in the mountains of Virginia where she, her partner, and their daughters homestead and grow food. Green’s chapbook, “The Ones We Have,” received the 2012 Flying Trout Chapbook prize. Her work has appeared in or is forthcoming from The Paris Review, Tin House, The Southern Review, Ecotone, Shenandoah, and Pleiades.

Presented by the Office of the President and VOICES Reading Series.

Event Sponsor(s)
VOICES Reading Series
Karen Leona Anderson